Savannah’s 1st Birthday Cake!

Well, after 12 long hours of cake baking, fondant tinting, and cupcake making, Savannah’s birthday cake is finally done!  Those twelve hours didn’t even seem like that long though because I had so much fun making it.  Yes, my feet were killing me by the time I finished, but the end result was very rewarding and the experience of making a 3-tier cake was very confidence-boosting.  I feel like I’m ready to tackle anything now when it comes to cakes (which I’m obviously not)!  This was my first time making:

  1. A 3-tier cake
  2. A “topsy turvy” cake
  3. A giant fondant cupcake!
  4. Using gum paste

So, without further ado, I give you my latest creation:

It’s definitely not perfect, and there are a few things I would love to change if I could, but overall I think it came out great.  I should point out that this cake was for my niece’s first birthday party which had a “cupcake” theme with the colors being pink, green, and purple.  The base recipe I used for the cake–which was french vanilla, triple chocolate, and strawberry (essentially neapolitan)–was this:

  • 1 box white cake mix (Yes, I cheated!)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 8 eggs

(Makes one 12″ round, one 8″ round, and one 6″ round)

This recipe is great if you like creating your own flavor, which is what I did.  Basically, all you want to do is mix the dry ingredients together and mix the wet ingredients (minus the eggs and sour cream) together in a separate bowl.  Add the wet into the dry and then add the eggs, and finish with the sour cream.  Mix until blended and then transfer to a buttered and floured cake pan and bake at 325 for about 45 minutes.  I would also suggest adding packet (4 serving size) of your favorite pudding to give it an extra moist, extra beautiful texture…but don’t forget to add one egg (per packet) if you do this!

The icing in this cake was all a simple vanilla buttercream.  This is about as basic as it gets, but here is my favorite recipe for icing that is sturdy enough to be used for cakes, but still creamy and luscious:

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract (use clear if you want white icing)
  • 8 cups powered sugar
  • 2 tbsp. milk

In a mixer, cream the butter, shortening, and vanilla together (about 2 minutes).  Add the powered sugar a cup at a time, blending well in between each, and finish with the milk.  That’s it!

So now maybe I’ll be back in the kitchen more this week making desserts on a much smaller scale since “the” cake is finally finished.  In the meantime, check out some pictures of my niece from her party! 🙂

About Caitlin

Two words: baking therapy.
This entry was posted in cakes, fondant. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Savannah’s 1st Birthday Cake!

  1. kim says:

    Freaking gorgeous!! Amazing cake! I’m scared of topsy turvy! 🙂

  2. memorylane00 says:

    Awwwww!! Caitlin!! I had no idea you could do this!! You are one amazing baker lady. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Zebra Cake |

Leave a Reply

